settings icon
share icon
Question

Pourquoi « solo christo » est-il si important ?

Réponse


Solo Christo, ou solus Christus, est l'un des cinq solas (ou solae) qui résument les enjeux essentiels de la Réforme protestante. Solo Christo signifie « Christ seul » en latin. Les quatre autres solas sont sola scriptura (« l'Écriture seule »), sola fide (« la foi seule »), sola gratia (« la grâce seule ») et sola Deo gloria (« à Dieu seul la gloire »). Chacune de ces doctrines est d'une importance vitale. Se passer de l'une d'entre elles conduira à l'erreur et à un faux évangile incapable de sauver.

Quand les réformateurs ont insisté sur le solo Christo, ils affirmaient que nous sommes sauvés uniquement par le Christ, indépendamment du mérite de toute autre personne. Jésus seul est le Roi des rois (Apocalypse 19:16), Lui seul est notre Grand Prêtre (Hébreux 4:14), notre Rédempteur (Galates 3:13) et l'unique Médiateur entre Dieu et les hommes (1 Timothée 2 :5). La tentative d'usurper ou de revendiquer ces fonctions est une arrogance blasphématoire. Attribuer ces rôles à quelqu'un d'autre (comme Marie) est tout aussi inapproprié. C'est le Christ et le Christ seul qui sauve.

Ce n'est pas notre droiture qui nous sauve, c'est celle de Christ seul. « Il nous a sauvés. Et il ne l’a pas fait à cause des actes de justice que nous aurions pu accomplir, mais conformément à sa compassion » (Tite 3 :5). « C'est la justice de Dieu par la foi en Jésus-Christ pour tous ceux qui croient » (Romains 3:22). Quelles que soient nos bonnes œuvres et notre fidélité, en dernière analyse, « nous sommes des serviteurs inutiles » (Luc 17 :10). Le Christ et le Christ seul est celui qui est digne (Apocalypse 5 :9). Solo Christo.

Du début à la fin, l'évangile met en valeur le Christ et le Christ seul. Il est celui qui est venu du ciel pour chercher les perdus (Luc 19:10). C'est lui qui a obéi parfaitement à la loi. C'est lui qui a été crucifié et c'est lui qui est ressuscité. Nous sommes les bénéficiaires reconnaissants de sa générosité. Nous sommes les mendiants, et Il est le Bienfaiteur. Nous sommes les lépreux, et Il est le Guérisseur. Nous sommes la tourmente, et Il est la Paix. Solo Christo.

L'évangile n'est pas un message sur ce que nous devons faire pour Dieu, l'évangile est la bonne nouvelle de ce que Dieu a fait pour nous. Le salut ne nous concerne pas essentiellement nous, il concerne Jésus. Solo Christo. En toutes choses, le Christ doit avoir la suprématie (Colossiens 1:18), et les réformateurs ont rétabli cette doctrine biblique dans l'Église. Comme l'a écrit Luther : « Je dois écouter l'Évangile. Il me dit, non pas ce que je dois faire, mais ce que Jésus-Christ, le Fils de Dieu, a fait pour moi » (Martin Luther, Commentaire sur les Galates, chapitre 2, versets 4-5).

English



Retour à la page d'accueil en français

Pourquoi « solo christo » est-il si important ?
Partager cette page Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon Email icon
© Copyright Got Questions Ministries

Show navigation

Why is solo Christo important?


 

Subscribe to our Question of the Week:

solo Christo
Question: "Why is solo Christo important?"

Answer:
Solo Christo, or solus Christus, is one of the five solas (or solae) that have come to summarize the key issues of the Protestant Reformation. Solo Christo means “Christ alone” in Latin. The other four solas are sola scriptura (“Scripture alone”), sola fide (“faith alone”), sola gratia (“grace alone”), and sola Deo gloria (“for the glory of God alone”). Each one of these doctrines is vitally important. To dispatch with any one of them will lead to error and a false gospel that is powerless to save.

When the Reformers insisted on solo Christo, they affirmed that we are saved by Christ alone, apart from the merit of any other person. Jesus alone is the King of kings (Revelation 19:16). He alone is our High Priest (Hebrews 4:14). He alone is our Redeemer (Galatians 3:13) and the sole Mediator between God and man (1 Timothy 2:5). The attempt to usurp or share in those positions is a blasphemous arrogation. Assigning those roles to someone else (such as Mary) is equally improper. It is Christ and Christ alone who saves.

It is not our righteousness that saves us; it is Christ’s alone. “He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy” (Titus 3:5). “This righteousness is given through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe” (Romans 3:22). Whatever good works we do and however faithful we are, in the final analysis “we are unworthy servants” (Luke 17:10). Christ and Christ alone is the Worthy One (Revelation 5:9). Solo Christo.

From beginning to end, the gospel uplifts Christ and Christ alone. He is the One who came from heaven to seek the lost (Luke 19:10). He is the One who obeyed the Law perfectly. He is the One who was crucified, and He is the One who rose again. We are the grateful recipients of His bounty. We are the beggars, and He is the Benefactor. We are the lepers, and He is the Healer. We are turmoil, and He is Peace. Solo Christo.

The gospel is not a message of what we must do for God; the gospel is the good news of what God has done for us. Salvation is not essentially about us; it is about Jesus. Solo Christo. In all things, Christ must have the supremacy (Colossians 1:18), and the Reformers restored that biblical doctrine to the church. As Luther wrote, “I must listen to the Gospel. It tells me, not what I must do, but what Jesus Christ, the Son of God, has done for me” (Martin Luther, Commentary on Galatians, Chapter 2, Verses 4–5).

Recommended Resource: Faith Alone, The Doctrine of Justification: What the Reformers Taught...and Why It Still Matters by Thomas Schreiner


Related Topics:

What are the five solas?

How can salvation be not of works when faith is required? Isn't believing a work?

Why is soli Deo gloria important?

What is saving grace?

What is salvation? What is the Christian doctrine of salvation?



Return to:

Questions about Salvation


Return to:

GotQuestions.org Home


Why is solo Christo important?




The GQ Network