settings icon
share icon

What are the seven blessings of Revelation?

seven blessings

The seven blessings of Revelation are found in Revelation 1:3, 14:13, 16:15, 19:9, 20:6, 22:7, and 22:14. The number seven is repeated several times throughout Revelation, symbolizing completeness and possibly complementing the completion of creation in seven days in Genesis 1–2.

The first blessing is found in Revelation 1:3: “Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.” The book of Revelation is unique in that it is the only book of the Bible with a direct blessing promised to those who publicly read it and their hearers. Of course, to hear God’s Word without obedience is folly (James 1:22), so the blessing specifies that those who hear also “take to heart” what is read.

The second blessing of Revelation is found in Revelation 14:13: “Then I heard a voice from heaven say, ‘Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’ ‘Yes,’ says the Spirit, ‘they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.’” God pronounces this blessing just before the seven bowl judgments of Revelation 16. People who become believers and die during the tribulation will find rest and reward with the Lord.

The third blessing is found in Revelation 16:15: “Look, I come like a thief! Blessed is the one who stays awake and remains clothed, so as not to go naked and be shamefully exposed.” Jesus warns those in the tribulation, just prior to the Battle of Armageddon, that He will soon come as a thief. Those who believe in Him will be blessed.

The fourth blessing is found in Revelation 19:9: “Then the angel said to me, ‘Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!’ And he added, ‘These are the true words of God.’” This marriage supper between the Lamb and His Bride, the church, will take place in heaven, and God’s people from all ages will be on hand to celebrate. A wedding feast is a common picture of the kingdom in Scripture (see Matthew 22:1–14; 25:1–13).

The fifth blessing is found in Revelation 20:6: “Blessed and holy are those who share in the first resurrection. The second death has no power over them, but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with him for a thousand years.” The various resurrections mentioned in the Bible are divided into two general categories: the first resurrection is the resurrection of the just, and the second of the unjust (Daniel 12:2; Luke 14:14; Acts 24:15). The first resurrection leads to eternal life; the second resurrection leads to the second death (Revelation 20:13–15).

The sixth blessing is found in Revelation 22:7: “Look, I am coming soon! Blessed is the one who keeps the words of the prophecy written in this scroll.” Again, Jesus promises a blessing to those who keep or obey the teachings of Revelation. Reading and hearing the Word is not enough, if not followed by obedience.

The seventh blessing is found in Revelation 22:14: “Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the city.” Salvation comes from having one’s robes washed in the Lamb’s blood (Revelation 7:14)—an amazing picture of the purity that comes with salvation and the price Jesus paid for our redemption (see Ephesians 1:7). Only blood-washed believers have the right to partake of the tree of life from which mankind has been barred since the Fall; only those with robes of righteousness have access to the Holy City (see Psalm 118:20; Isaiah 35:8).

Return to:

Questions about Revelation

What are the seven blessings of Revelation?
Subscribe to the

Question of the Week

Get our Question of the Week delivered right to your inbox!

Follow Us: Facebook icon Twitter icon YouTube icon Pinterest icon Instagram icon
© Copyright 2002-2024 Got Questions Ministries. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy
This page last updated: January 4, 2022