settings icon
share icon
Question

Qu’est-ce que le Talmud?

Réponse


Le mot "Talmud" est un mot hébreu qui signifie "apprentissage, instruction". Le Talmud est un texte central du judaïsme traditionnel et se compose principalement de discussions et de commentaires sur l'histoire, la loi (en particulier son application dans la vie quotidienne), les coutumes et la culture juives. Le Talmud se compose de ce que l'on appelle la Gémara et la Mishnah.

En plus des écritures hébraïques inspirées, que les chrétiens appellent l'Ancien Testament, le judaïsme possède une "Torah orale", qui est une tradition expliquant le sens de ces écritures, la manière de les interpréter et d'appliquer les lois. Les juifs orthodoxes croient que Dieu a enseigné cette Torah orale à Moïse puis à d'autres jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Cette tradition n'a été maintenue que sous forme orale jusqu'au 2e siècle de notre ère environ lorsqu'elle a été compilée et mise par écrit dans un document appelé la Mishnah. Au cours des siècles suivants, des commentaires supplémentaires élaborant la Mishnah ont été rédigés à Jérusalem et à Babylone. Ceux-ci sont connus sous le nom de Gémara. La Gémara et la Mishnah forment le Talmud qui a été achevé au 5e siècle de notre ère.

Il existe en fait deux Talmuds : le Talmud de Jérusalem et le Talmud de Babylone. Le Talmud de Babylone est plus complet et c'est celui auquel on pense lorsqu'on évoque le Talmud. Le Talmud n'est pas facile à lire. On y suppose souvent que le lecteur sait de quoi l'on parle, les concepts sont souvent exprimés par des abréviations et les versets bibliques qui soutiennent un enseignement ne sont souvent référencés que par deux ou trois mots. Le Talmud préserve une variété de points de vue sur chaque question et n'identifie pas toujours clairement quel est le point de vue valide.

Le christianisme ne considère pas le Talmud comme inspiré au même titre que les 66 livres du canon biblique qui sont "soufflés par Dieu" (2 Timothée 3:16). Si certains des enseignements du Talmud peuvent être "compatibles" avec les enseignements bibliques, il en va de même pour de nombreux écrits provenant de nombreuses religions différentes. Pour le chrétien, l'étude du Talmud peut être un excellent moyen d'en apprendre davantage sur la tradition, l'histoire et l'interprétation juives, mais il ne doit pas être considéré comme Parole de Dieu faisant autorité.

English



Retour à la page d'accueil en français

Qu’est-ce que le Talmud?
Partager cette page Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon Email icon
© Copyright Got Questions Ministries

Bible Questions Answered
 
    

What is the Talmud?

Talmud

Question: "What is the Talmud?"

Answer:
The word “Talmud” is a Hebrew word meaning “learning, instruction.” The Talmud is a central text of mainstream Judaism and consists primarily of discussions and commentary on Jewish history, law (especially its practical application to life), customs and culture. The Talmud consists of what are known as the Gemara and the Mishnah.

In addition to the inspired written Hebrew scriptures, which Christians call the Old Testament, Judaism has an "Oral Torah" which is a tradition explaining what these scriptures mean and how to interpret them and apply the laws. Orthodox Jews believe God taught this Oral Torah to Moses, and to others, down to the present day. This tradition was maintained only in oral form until about the 2nd century A.D., when the oral law was compiled and written down in a document called the Mishnah. Over the next few centuries, additional commentaries elaborating on the Mishnah were written down in Jerusalem and Babylon. These additional commentaries are known as the Gemara. The Gemara and the Mishnah together are known as the Talmud. This was completed in the 5th century A.D.

There are actually two Talmuds: the Jerusalem Talmud and the Babylonian Talmud. The Babylonian Talmud is more comprehensive, and is the one most people mean if they just say "the Talmud" without specifying which one. The Talmud is not easy to read. There are often gaps in the reasoning where it is assumed that you already know what they are talking about, and concepts are often expressed in a sort of shorthand. Biblical verses that support a teaching are often referenced by only two or three words. The Talmud preserves a variety of views on every issue and does not always clearly identify which view is the accepted one.

Christianity does not consider the Talmud to be inspired in the same sense that the 66 books of the biblical canon are “God breathed” (2 Timothy 3:16). While some of the teachings from the Talmud may be “compatible” with biblical teachings, the same can be said for many different writings from many different religions. For the Christian, the study of the Talmud can be a great way to learn more about Jewish tradition, history, and interpretation, but the Talmud is not to considered the authoritative Word of God.

Recommended Resources: Our Father Abraham: Jewish Roots of the Christian Faith by Marvin Wilson and Logos Bible Software.


Related Topics:

What is the Mishnah? What is a midrash?

What is Judaism and what do Jews believe?

What is the Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur)?

What is Messianic Judaism?

I am Jewish, can I become a Christian?



Return to:

Questions about the Bible


Return to:

GotQuestions.org Home


What is the Talmud?